A word on this blog.

Fluid Karma Film Reviews is a “Blog” for my own thoughts on the films which I watch and spend time thinking about when I should be working. Here you will find reviews, ideas and images which coincide with my personal taste in cinema.

I tend to go for slightly unusual, darker and “alternative” films, and rarely dip my toe into the mainstream. I have started this blog having recently taken the decision to stop paying to see “Hollywood” films at the cinema – my last three visits to the multiplex offering such distressing movie-going experiences (“Prometheus” being a particular low point) that I have now been completely put off. I am very lucky to live in a city which is home to two independent cinemas, which I will continue to enjoy visiting.

To kick things off and to give an idea of what to expect, here is a quick list of some of the directors whom I most admire, and who will be discussed in future posts.

Robert Aldrich, Woody Allen, Dario Argento, John Carpenter, Alex Cox, David Cronenberg, Rainer W. Fassbinder, Abel Ferrara, Todd Solondz, David Lynch, Sidney Lumet, Brian De Palma, Roman Polanski, George A. Romero, Michele Soavi…

….and Richard Kelly, from whose film “Southland Tales” this blog derives its name.

Okay… now, let’s dance.

Leave a Reply

